Initiation Standards

17th September 2014 • Initiation

## Initiation Initiation is the formal process in ISKCON for a guru to accept a disciple. Srila Prabhupada prescribed two stages of initiation: * Harinama Initiation (also known as First Initiation) * Brahmana or Diksa Initiation (also known as Second Initiation) …


Srila Prabhupada's Requirements for Second Initiation

14th September 2014 • Initiation

Prabhupāda: Yes. Brahmā spoke _śruti_, Vedas, so whatever he speaks is _śruti_. It is therefore called _saṁhitā_. _Saṁhitā_ means Vedas, _śruti_. As soon as it is called _saṁhitā_, that is Vedas. Acyutānanda: (break) ...comprises the examination for _bhaktivedanta_ and _bhakti-śāstrī_? Prabhupāda: Hm? Acyutānanda: There was talk that…


Brahminical Initiation Qualifications

8th September 2014 • Initiation

Perhaps you are wondering what the qualifications are for one to receive 2nd initiation / Brahminical initiation. Here is a list to look over. This is not an established ISKCON standard as each _yatra_ in consultation with the initiating Guru will differ to some degree. This list…